Danger! Danger!

“Danger Will Robinson! Danger!”

I was a latch key kid.

This meant that upon arriving home after school my brother and sister and I had little to no adult supervision until my mother arrived home from work. So from three o’clock to half past five o’clock we were supervised by after-school reruns broadcast on cable television.

One of the most memorable television shows for me was Lost in Space. The series told adventurous stories of the Robinson Family marooned on various alien planets throughout the galaxy. It was a loose science fiction adaptation of the classic 1812 novel The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss. The Robinson Family was Lost in Space from 1965 to 1968. A film version of the classic TV series was released in 1998.

Although the Robinson Family faced many dangers on these alien planets, I was comforted to watch them bond as a family. Will Robinson was the youngest child and was accompanied constantly by the family robot. Robot, was a critical piece of equipment for the Robinson Family. It would sense danger before the family spaceship was attacked. A classic line from every show was, “Warning! Warning! Danger Will Robinson! Danger!” Robot was by young Will Robinson’s side protecting him with warnings of what he could not see.

“For it is impossible, in the case of those who have once been enlightened, who have tasted the heavenly gift, and have shared in the Holy Spirit, and have tasted the goodness of the word of God and the powers of the age to come, and then have fallen away, to restore them again to repentance, since they are crucifying once again the Son of God to their own harm and holding him up to contempt.” — Hebrews 6:4-6

Just as Robot warns the Robinson family of danger, the words of Hebrews are warnings to all Christians from our loving God. He does not wish us to fall away from the truth of salvation. Rather, he wishes to keep us in safety.

God loves his children. Those who are brothers in Christ, saved in the knowledge and faith that Jesus is their savior and elder brother have protection in the words of warning (Romans 8:9, Colossians 1:15, Hebrews 2:17) .

“Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.” — Hebrews 2:1

The author of Hebrews not only spoke of Christ, teaching of his true character and authority, he also proclaimed warnings to Jewish believers of the dangers facing them as Christians. The warning passages of Hebrews proclaimed caution to the believer not to fall back into the sinful, aimless life he had before coming to Christ. These warnings were not a call for Christians to question salvation. Rather, they were direct cautions from God’s Word as a means for the Father in Heaven to keep his own true saints safe.

A main tension in the Lost in Space stories was when Dr. Zachary Smith would ignore the warnings of Robot. Dr. Smith was the antagonist. Being a stowaway on the ship when it left earth, he was an unwelcome, yet permanent part of the Robinson family. Warnings from Robot were often met by Dr. Smith with a sarcastic response, “You Neanderthal Ninny!”

When Dr. Smith walked away from the protection of Robot, young Will Robinson would often be swayed, against his better judgement, to follow him. Robot responded to foolish decisions with the lines, “Does not compute.” and, “I cannot follow that course of action.”

The blindness to Robot’s warnings always brought life-threatening adventures with aliens and monsters. Of course, every episode ended with the climax of the father, Dr. John Robinson coming to the rescue protecting all from the dangers they foolishly met.

As a latch key kid, I was left to my own supervision often. From time to time, my brother and I would disregard the warnings of our mother and do dangerous things boys do. We could have hurt ourselves or destroyed the house more times than I dare to admit here. Yet, we did have sufficient warning. I was always amazed at how my Mother would know of our activities although she was away at work. She somehow always knew what mischief we had undertaken. I learned years later that Mom asked our neighbors to look out after us. They would always supply Mom with valuable secret information on us.

Now as a pastor and a Christian father, I find myself from time to time frustrated at the lack of concern my children have for the warnings I establish for their safety and success. My father in heaven must often shake his head at me for ignoring his warnings as well.

My only prayer is that my family, and church, will not drift away from a sound faith in Christ to the point they are lost forever. My prayer for myself is that I would not ever reject God’s warnings and suddenly find myself lost, drifting aimlessly outside of the safety of my heavenly Father’s protection, lest I fall just like others.

Danger! Danger! There are dangers ahead for every Christian. Most are not frightening like the monsters and aliens from childhood stories. Instead, forces of evil are cunning and manipulative. They look for ways to catch Christians off guard, separated from his protective word.

Please. Heed the warnings of our Lord. Do not stray from God’s Word to find yourself aimlessly drifting and lost forever.

Leave a Reply

